Bam!

The Universe is exploding with wonder and dleight!

The Universe is exploding with wonder and delight!

In my last post, I wrote that compassionate acts are the Way. I also wrote that acts of horrific violence are also the Way. I feel I need to ensure it is clear what I mean by that. I do not condone acts of violence. Acts of violence will not help dissolve the illusion of our ego-mind. In very practical terms, they are not the Way. However, what I was doing, was referring to the operation of the Universe. In one sense, if any actions do not violate the laws of physics, then they are the Way of the cosmos. The Way is not merely the laws of physics though.

So, what am I saying? I suppose it is all about natural function and flow. I am reminded of the following comic:

cartoon

Now, a penguins natural function is not to climb trees. It can sure as hell try, and may even get somewhere. What is a humans natural function? What is you natural function?

Now, of course, the great thing about evolution is that animals (and plants, etc) can adapt so over time, a penguin would become an excellent tree climber!* So, there is a dance. We must learn our natural function and be in tune with that, but also be open to the fact that our ‘natural function’ is empty of inherent substance. It is always in flux. So we dance with our abilities, what we have been adapted to do, along with those things we are not adapted to do and therefore sometimes we trip and fall flat on our face!

I have veered away from my point however, lol. In the end, our natural function is about allowing the Universe to flow freely through us, beyond us. Our ‘free will’ and our ‘fate’ both dissolve into meaningless…. Neither exist as the Universe flows.

When we dissolve our ego-minds, who is left to experience free will or fate? Both are illusionary traps.

I trust the Universe and the Universe trusts me, we make the best team, the natural team, its our natural function, is it not?

 

*I seem to recall that maybe there are some tree climbing penguin species down in South America’s tip perhaps. Maybe I am wrong though!

4 thoughts on “Bam!

  1. Hi,

    That’s a great post.

    Yes, we need to ‘learn’ to dance with the Universe, specially if our life and perceptual burdens have lead to us being wound up so that we have lost that intuitive freedom to dance. That I suppose is our version of ‘Paradise Lost’.

    But to re-learn this dance, we need to gain access to that aspect of the Universe with which we could correlate. How, in your view, such access could be gained?

    Cheers

    Shakti

    Like

    • Hi Shakti,

      Many thanks for your kind words.
      Access is never denied, it is sometimes and often not realized we had it all along.
      Zazen is one way of helping us to realize this.
      When we let go of the thoughts our minds cling to, we can see the transcient flowing nature of all things.
      May all beings dance and sing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

