Prostrations

Love, gratitude and faith.

Love, gratitude and faith.

The other night, after meditating in my living room, i looked up and my eyes caught the sight of a buddha statue I have on my fireplace mantle. I felt deep gratitude for his teachings, his love, his compassion for all beings, that I prostrated* before him, his image as a sign of my thanks, my love and my devotion. I realized it has been quite some time since I have prostrated last and I felt a sadness for this….as if I had been ungrateful to an old friend.

My cat took this action as some sort of bizarre unknown act and promptly started attacking my hands during each prostration! I simply let her do this, as it was not a real attack as her claws were retracted and her teeth didn’t dig into my flesh. It was if she was trying to figure out if I was having a seizure or something!

*Prostration is the placement of the body in a reverentially or submissively prone position as a gesture. Typically prostration is distinguished from the lesser acts of bowing or kneeling by involving a part of the body above the knee touching the ground, especially the hands. (from Wikipedia)

2 thoughts on “Prostrations

Leave a Reply

